Praying with the Little Guy

27 November 2007

The Little Guy has a set of prayer beads.  They were (once upon a time)  part of my Baha’i prayer beads, but had since, through the addition of some knots and the removal of about sixty-two beads, become an Anglican Rosary (and here).  I attached a small Medal of Saint Benedict to it, and voila!

But, as has been stated on these pages before, I don’t really have an affinity for the Anglican Rosary despite having given it a go.  So, I gave it to the Little Guy since he has expressed a desire to pray on a number of occasions.  This morning, he brought me his prayer beads and said he wanted to pray.

On the cruciform beads, I talked him through the Our Father.  For the first set of “weeks,” I had him hold the seven beads in his hand and tell God what he had done that day.

“Eating,” he replied, to which he added playing, brushing his teeth, and running.

On the second set, I asked him to tell God what he was thankful for.

“Eating,” he replied, to which he added Mama, Papa, his friends, Abu and Pops (my parents), and food.

On the third set, I asked him to tell God what he needed or wanted.

Predictably, he said, “Eating.”

And then I told him, on the final set of seven beads, to tell God what he had questions about.

“And let me guess,” I added, “You want to ask God about eating.”

“Yeah,” he replied.

Yet more proof that the surest way to God is, in some form, by way of the stomach.

3 Responses to “Praying with the Little Guy”

  1. Tripp Says:

    Ah. Such eucharistic aplomb!

  2. Beth Says:

    Hey. Maybe we ought to feed him more often.

    Love.

  3. theartangel Says:

    Nice to meet you winged one!
    Blessings!
    The Art Angel

Leave a comment