Lenten Disciplines

5 February 2008

So, I’ve posted my New Year’s Resolutions, I might as well post my Lenten disciplines.

In many ways, I’ve little of substance or note in my Lenten disciplines.  I’ve done all these before, to some extent:

  1. Abstaining from meat on all days but Sundays.
  2. Fast on Wednesdays and Fridays.
  3. No alcohol during the week.
  4. Read something of spiritual significance.
  5. Pray the Hours with increased focus and discipline.

It may not seem it, but for me this Lent is all about quality, not quantity.  The last few Lents have had significant portions that have focused on the exterior: relationships, communication, outward disciplines.  I hope that this year’s Lent might lend itself to a greater interiority.

    1. Abstaining from meat on all days but Sundays.

I will also attempt to abstain from milk, cheese, and eggs when eating by myself (so generally lunches on non-fast days and at fast-breaking on Wednesday and Friday).  I am adopting no real strictness on this account, but I will try to do it whenever I can.

     2. Fast on Wednesdays and Fridays

I’ve also considered fasting on Mondays, since I won’t be going to the gym those days.  Fasting on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays are more ore less out, since I’ll go to the gym on those days.

3. No alcohol during the week.

This one is self-explanatory; in the last month I’ve indulged myself generously a few times, which is more than usual.  I’m thinking that Saturday evening and Sunday evenings I’ll allow myself a beer or two.

4. Read something of spiritual significance.

I wonder what folks might suggest.  I’m interested in reading something that I’m not familiar with.  I’ve considered the Showings of  Julian of Noriwch, Imitation of Christ by Thomas a Kempis, or Merton’s Thoughts in Solitude.  I’m not interested on pushing myself on this, just giving myself a meaningful, positive spiritual reading for Lent.  Short might be good.

5. Pray the Hours with increased focus and discipline.

I often pray the Morning and Evening Prayer in a less-than-focused way.  If I read while the Little Guy eats breakfast, I can’t be that focused.  And I’ve often foregone Compline lately, and haven’t prayed the Little Hours in months.  I’d like to pray them again, and I might try to take them up anew.

3 Responses to “Lenten Disciplines”

  1. Tripp Says:

    Huh…reading something sounds good. Wanna read together?


  2. Sure. I picked up Thoughts in Solitude today as I had a minute or three to spare before heading to school. It’s a little Shambhala Pocket Classics I picked up for a few dollars.

  3. Tripp Says:

    Gotcha. Thanks. I’ll check it out of the library.

Leave a Reply

