New Year’s Resolutions

4 February 2008

I’ve been thinking for much of this month about New Year’s resolutions, but also about Lenten disciplines.  I have my Lenten disciplines more or less in mind, but I’ll post those later.

I know most people have etched their resolutions into stone by now, but I’m running a little late.  Here are my New Year’s resolutions for this year, followed by a brief discussion of it:

  1. Re-learn a solution to the Rubik’s Cube
  2. Write 2 poems a week.
  3. Exercise 3 times a week.
  4. Write 2 pages of prose a week.
  5. Become more engaged in the finances as well as the medium- to long-term planning in our household.

Re-learn a solution to the Rubik’s Cube

I decided to try and tackle an easy resolution.  This one is easy for me because I once was able to solve the Rubik’s Cube.  Through lack of practice (I did not have a cube for many years) I forgot the end algorithms/maneuvers to solve it.  I could solve about 2/3 of the cube at the beginning of the month, but the last face of the cube I couldn’t do.  I’ve been working on this one and am happy to say it is fulfilled.  I have re-learnt the most basic solution to the cube.  Hurray.

Write 2 poems a week

The first few weeks of the year were accompanied by a burst of poetic creativity for me.  This unexpected fruitfulness emboldened me to try to keep it up.  So far I’ve written about 12 poems this year, which puts me ahead of schedule.

Exercise 3 times a week

This is a resolution I have been less successful with so far.  The first two weeks I didn’t exercise at all, and one of the succeeding weeks I’ve only gotten to the gym twice.  So this one is a little harder because, while I can write anywhere, during a cold Chicago winter exercise is confined to the gym.

Write 2 pages of prose a week

I have really not tried to do this yet.  I’ve done a little bit here and there, but I am not yet close to writing 2 pages of prose a week.  This is more ambiguous than the first two, mainly because I don’t have any particular projects going strong right now that are not poetic.  I might write some non-fiction, some fiction, whatever; my hope is to write something that is not poetry in addition to the poetry.  What that something is is not important.

 Become more engaged in the finances as well as the medium- to long-term planning in our household.

Beth and I are skilled in many ways, and we are both good partners for the other.  One area that we fall down in a bit is household management.  We’re good parents, friends, lovers, advisers, editors, etc., but we’re not the best managers.  I especially am not a good planner.  So, in addition to the other, more manageable and quantifiable resolutions, I’m going to try to become more engaged in the financial management and planning aspects of our household.  On the accountability end of this, I’m going to journal (though not ‘blog) every week about how I’ve accomplished this goal.  We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

