Just Like Old Times

8 January 2008

I had a particularly wonderful and unexpected treat today.

I took the bus to school.

Normally, I take the car because it only takes 20-25 minutes to drive to school, and the CTA is about a 90 minute commitment.  On Mondays and Wednesdays, to make matters more complicated, I need to go from West Rogers Park to Skokie in the span of about 15 minutes.

I took the 84 Peterson bus from where we live to its terminus on Central Avenue, then walked the mile or so to school.

The walk was glorious.  It helped that it was around 65 degrees Fahrenheit.  But what a pleasant, stress free way to get to work.  I hope I have the wherewithal to do this more often.  Unfortunately, it’s probably more expensive than driving, if you only consider fuel costs, but not for long, I’m afraid.

One Response to “Just Like Old Times”


  1. I used public transport for about six months last year and, when the train wasn’t horribly crowded so I could sit down, enjoyed reading (a paper, the office, novels and other books) during my commute but the local authority hiked the fare. Like in Chicago (I’ve ridden the el and buses there) it took me three times as long as driving.

    Got your marvellous weather a day later for two days in a row and it’s not supposed to get terribly cold later this week.

Leave a Reply

