Friday Five: Don’t Call It a Comeback Edition

30 November 2007

Will Smama posted this up at the RevGals

Please tell us your least favorite/most annoying seasonal….

 

1) dessert/cookie/family food

Umm . . . I like all the food that my family made.  I never liked the New Year’s tradition in my family: the Cuban tradition of eating 12 grapes on New Year’s Eve.  My folk always had seeded grapes when I was a kid, and I didn’t like them.  On the non-family side of things, any savory dish with marshmallows in it is right out.

2) beverage (seasonal beer, eggnog w/ way too much egg and not enough nog, etc…)

I hate eggnog.  Hate.  Hate. Hate with a perfect hate.  Love glogg, though.

3) tradition (church, family, other)

I don’t like church Christmas hoo-hah before Christmas.  Churches should, at the very least, observe some kind of Advent, although it’s hard, especially for kids.

4) decoration

Tinsel.  What an annoyance.  Anything tinselly, really, like those long tinsel whatchamacallits my family used when I was a kid in the early 90s.

5) gift (received or given)

I remember a pair of blue pants I was given as a kid that I really hated but that my mother was proud of me for being particularly gracious and thankful to the giver, a good friend of hers.

BONUS: SONG/CD that makes you want to tell the elves where to stick it.

“Here comes Santa Claus,” (the traditional one, not the John Waters’ Christmas version which adds on “with a sack of s*@#!”) “The Christmas Song,” (“Chestnuts roasting over an open fire” especially by Johnny Mathis) and almost anything by Mannheim Steamroller by the end of the season (I’ll admit that I like their Christmas music the first dozen or so times I hear it each December).

3 Responses to “Friday Five: Don’t Call It a Comeback Edition”

  1. Mary Beth Says:

    Yeah, I remember when Mannheim Steamroller Christmas was NEW and it was so awesome. Now it makes me want to run away, flailing my arms, into the darkness.

  2. Songbird Says:

    I really don’t understand putting marshmallows in anything other than dessert. What’s the point?

Leave a Reply

