Friday Five: Extravagant Unbusyness

9 November 2007

Name 5 things you would do to:

1.to care for your body
I’d love to row more. This past summer I discovered the joys of a rowing ergometer. I’d love to do that for 40 minutes every few days.

2. to care for your spirit
I’d love to get to the Eucharist more often, say twice during the week and then Sundays. Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Sundays sounds perfect to me.

3. to care for your mind
Write more and read more. That’s the perennial need for my mind.

4. to bring a sparkle to your eye
Spend some truly enjoyable time just chatting with my wife. There never seems to be enough of that. Also, reconnecting with friends that I see less often now that we have a baby.

5. to place a spring in your step
Hmm . . . I’m not sure what would do this other than spending a little quiet time before I teach. A quiet cup of the coffee, a book.

For a bonus which one on the list are you determined to put into action?
A tie: definitely more down time with my wife and writing and reading more.

4 Responses to “Friday Five: Extravagant Unbusyness”

  1. LutheranChik Says:

    I wish I had the opportunity for more frequent Eucharist too.

    Good play.

  2. sallysjourney Says:

    I didn’t think of Eucharist, but it deffinetly feeds my spirit, prayers that you find that time to chat with your wife. 🙂

  3. revhipchick Says:

    wonderful play.

    i hope you get that extra time with your wife and friends. it’s so hard with a new baby. writing and coffee too–seems to be a theme around these parts. :>)

  4. Mother Laura Says:

    I love rowing machines (did a little crew in college till I got too busy with school and churchy stuff) but it seems they are out of fashion in a lot of workout places these days. Our apt just has treadmills, stepper/elliptical, and bikes.

Leave a Reply

