Friday Five: It’s Pumpkin/Apple friday

25 October 2007

1. How did you celebrate this time of year when you were a child?
We didn’t.  I grew up in Miami, Florida, so no apple/pumpkin stuff for us; Halloween, and that was about it.

2. Do you and/or your family “celebrate” Halloween? Why or why not? And if you do, has it changed from what you used to do?
We do.  While I don’t think it’s a particularly meaningful holiday, it sure is fun for the Little Guy.  He’s Frankenstein this year.  When I was a kid, we did the usual rounds of the neighborhood (a friend’s neighborhood to be precise); as a teenager I did not celebrate it, really, and then as a young adult, it usually meant pulling together a silly costume and drinking too much.

2. Candy apples: Do you prefer red cinnamon or caramel covered? Or something else?
Caramel covered.  Those who prefer something else are anathema.

3. Pumpkins: Do you make Jack O’ Lanterns? Any ideas of what else to do with them?
Yep.  Turns out, I’m pretty good at carving them, even though I never did it until I was an adult.  I hat it when they rot though, which seems inevitable.  And smelly.

4. Do you decorate your home for fall or Halloween? If so, what do you do? Bonus points for pictures.
Nope.  We’re lame-o on this one.

5. Do you like pretending to be something different? Does a costume bring our an alternate personality?
Nah.  I’m pretty odd and unusual without a costume, so it seems superfluous.  You should see how I dress to teach.

Bonus: Share your favorite recipe for an autumn food, particularly apple or pumpkin ones.

I’ve got a killer prosciutto-thyme-lemon whole-chicken I make, which is nicely accented by an apple in the chicken’s . . . orifice.

10 Responses to “Friday Five: It’s Pumpkin/Apple friday”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Where’s the recipe???

    uh… we know what orifice….

  2. Wyldth1ng Says:

    I am not cursed mind you!
    I am glad little Frankenstein will have a good time.


  3. LOL at Cathy! “Anathema?” Wowee…good thing I like both, so I can still have some redeeming social or spiritual value. 😉

  4. Jan Says:

    We sound like two of a kind. Thanks for your answers. I’d like the recipe, too!

  5. Leah Says:

    both anathema and to be historically condemned, from another who’s odd and unusual whatever the place, time occasion and menu.

  6. sallysjourney Says:

    another plea for that recipe here– my mouth is watering at the description!

  7. Mrs. M Says:

    Yes, yes! Please post the recipe!

  8. revhrod Says:

    Okay, the whole “let’s write a cookbook” theme is present again this week. Yummy sounding chicken!

  9. Beth Says:

    You know, Jorge, I have to confess: I married you, at least in part, because of that roasted chicken.

    You should definitely share the recipe. It is wonderful. XO, B

  10. diane Says:

    yeah, haven’t heard a good anathema in a long time!
    and… I WANT that chicken recipe. (sounds good. is it hard?)

Leave a Reply

