Fractal My Pollock

22 October 2007

A student of mine referred me to this article today following a mention of it in a class discussion yesterday.

We were discussing two essays (Sara Vowell’s “Shooting Dad” and Brad Manning’s “Arm Wrestling with My Father), and eventually got onto the subject of the nature of art.

Sara Vowell refers to her father as a kind of artist. What’s makes this claim surprising is that her father, Pat Vowell, is a professional gunsmith who makes a cannon. A real cannon.

So we got off on the subject of art and what makes for art: intention? meaningfulness? beauty?

And so my student gave me this link today. A fascinating article, especially if you’re really interested in fractals, as I am.

Leave a Reply

