The 1965 Missal

26 July 2007

I find this text fascinating. Much of the material from the earlier 1962 Missal (the subject of the much talked-about motu proprio).

What I find interesting, and even compelling, is how psalmodic the Tridentine(ish) Mass is:

Washing the Fingers

I wash my hands in innocence, and I go around Your altar, O Lord, giving voice to my thanks, and recounting all Your wondrous deeds.  O Lord, I love the house in which You dwell, the tenting-place of Your glory.  Gather not my soul with those of sinners, nor with men of blood my life.  On their hands are crimes, and their right hands are full of bribes.  But I walk in integrity; redeem me, and have pity on me.  My foot stands on level ground; in the assemblies I will bless You, O Lord.  Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit.  As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end.  Amen.

3 Responses to “The 1965 Missal”

  1. David Says:

    The is very psalmodic as you say. I love it when the Church reaches into its traditions. Just goes to show that newer isn’t necessarily better.

  2. Scott Says:

    Wonder which 1965 missal you have? This is a fascination of mine lately. Would love to participate in, or at least see a video of, a 1965 liturgy. I spent a few of my formative years attending Mass in that version, with the little brown St Joseph Missals, until everything changed one Sunday when I was 9 or 10, and we entered the missalette era. 🙂


  3. Glad you got and are enjoying the missal!

    Yes, the traditional rite is chock full of scripture. In 1965 the offertory was still the same as in the straight 1962 Missal. (As you read in my blog, officially there was no 1965 Missal, only new, simplifying instructions and some translations given for using the 1962 altar one… and new hand missals for the laity.)

    Never been to a ’65 Mass (Anglo-Catholics don’t use it and it’s rarer in the Roman Church than ’62 Masses) but have been to lots of ’62 ones including with one Episcopal priest using that missal. All in Latin.

    The Anglo-Catholic church where I’ve been a happy part-timer for the past four years sometimes has a silent Canon (consecration – not a gun not being fired!). I’ve been told by server friends when that happens the rector does it and the offertory including that psalm in Latin. (As AC ordinands in Britain often were taught how to do 40 years ago. He’s been a priest about as long as I’ve been alive. There used to be Anglican churches in London that always confected the Sacrament quietly in Latin! They use the modern Roman book now, out loud, in English… well, ICEL anyway.)

    So what we’ve got is not the 1928 American Prayer Book or ‘high’ supplemented 1979 Rite I (what Ascension, Chicago does with Rite II) at all but… a Tridentine Mass circa 1951 but partly translated into Elizabethan English. (About the same amount of the vernacular as in ’65.) The priest can claim Dutch-touch succession BTW. So you could argue that these are really old-school Old Catholic services. (Before the 1970s Old Catholics were really very conservative: vernacular Tridentine.)

Leave a Reply

