Friday Frivolity: A Friday Five (Lowkey Edition)

20 July 2007

 The hope of our family is that this be a lowkey weekend.  Oddly, I have dinner with a friend tonight, a toddler birthday party tomorrow, and an evening picnic on Sunday, so how lowkey can it be?

The Five:

1. Share a moment/ time of real encouragement in your journey of faith
Hmm.  This is a hard one, although they have been many.  Probably when I realized and was comfortable with the fact that I had become a Christian again: after being born into a Christian family and becoming disillusioned in young adulthood, I eventually had a conversion experience.  Another was a week ago when my Spiritual Director said that he thought I had a genuine call to ordained ministry.

2. Do you have a current vision / dream for your work/ family/ministry?
Sure do.  Work: publish my collection of poetry.  Family: live happily and buy a house in the next year.  Ministry: set up something like this, hopefully as a partnership between MyChurch and All Saints’.  Eventually, of course, ministry will involve ordination and other things, but this seems important right now.

3.Money is no object and so you will…..
If money is no object, then I will take my family to Rome for a week, fly home, buy a ton of books, commission a bunch of icons from iconographers I know, then jump into seminary in the fall.

4. How do you see your way through the disappointments? What keeps you going?
The realization that all things have blessings in them.  The understanding that God does not decree evil. The knowledge that the Gospel’s message is, in part, that we need not fear anymore, not even death.
5. How important are your roots?
Pretty important.  Where I’ve been, and where my family has been, is who I am.  My roots, whether ancestral or simply the path my life has taken, informs everything I do.

3 Responses to “Friday Frivolity: A Friday Five (Lowkey Edition)”

  1. sallysjourney Says:

    excellent play- prayers for futher vocational discernment. Love your positive outlook on blessings in all things.

  2. figarobo Says:

    Blessings on those words from Brian. Of course, some of us knew that already. But, never hurts to hear it from a gifted, insightful and wise source.

  3. chartreusova Says:

    Just a week in Rome? That can’t be long enough, especially if money is no object.

    A dinner, birthday party and a picnic. Sounds like a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

