Friday Five: It’s My Party

4 May 2007

(via the RevGalBlogPals)

1) Would you rather be the host or the guest?
The guest.  Definitely the guest.  I don’t like cleaning up after parties, even though it usually not that big a deal since the college days.

2) When you are hosting, do you clean everything up the minute the guests go home? Will you accept help with the dishes?
I like to clean up the same night if possible, especially if its early.  I will always accept help with the dishes.

3) If you had the wherewithal, and I guess I mean more than money, to throw a great theme party, what would the theme be?

Once, when I worked for a public official after college, I was invited by a co-ish-worker (he worked for another elected official with whom we shared a building) invited me to a theme party his partner and he were having.  The theme: Brazil!  I always thought that was an odd theme.

Myself, I’ve always been intrigued by those murder-myster parties or other parties that come out of a box or some pre-design.

If I had to choose a theme, I’d probably have a costume party like, “Dress as your favorite Saint, Sinner, Poet, or Simpsons character.”

4) What’s the worst time you ever had at a party?

A cast party hosted by a friend of mine.  Although technically a cast party, all were welcome.  I knew the host and a few cast members.  But once I got there,  I felt thoroughly unwelcome.  I wandered about for 15 or 20 minutes, nobody said hello to me other than the host, and I left.  I guess I’ve been lucky.
5) And to end on a brighter note, what was the best?

There’ve been a few great ones.  A dinner party last fall which was particularly spectacular.  The baby shower/cocktail party 2004.  Grad school graduation party 2003.  New Year’s 2002 was a great party I threw.  Mardi Gras 2000 was a  great party I attended (hosted by the same friend who was responsible for the cast party above).  There was a Heavy Metal theme party sometime in 1999.

I like to remember the end of a party, and these I remember these in their entirety.

I feel lame that all but one of the “best” parties were so long ago.  Hopefully my birthday party (sometime this June) will make the list.

3 Responses to “Friday Five: It’s My Party”

  1. sally Says:

    cool a murder mystery party- hope you have a wonderful party in June 🙂
    Sally

  2. Songbird Says:

    Cast parties have that tendency to be great or just awful! We’ve had some good ones (I have several performing children) and some horrifying ones, too.

  3. Deb Says:

    Yeah, I’m with you on the cast parties. Particularly when the leads are stuck on themselves, and the tech and pit crew wonder “why did I come?” (Guess which group I was always in?)

    d

Leave a Reply

