Toward Oblation

27 April 2007

As many of you know, my Benedictinism is due largely to the witness and apostolate of this monastery.  I think of it as “my” monastery.  While there I read he Holy Rule for the first time.  While I there I got my first real sense of how the Office was prayed and what regular, everyday, ordinary ferial chanting was like.  I know quite a bit about that monastery’s history, practice, and monks.

Understandably, I have wanted to establish a more formal relationship or bond to that monastery, and within Benedictine culture, that means becoming an Oblate.  I’ve come to the conclusion, however, that it will not work with this monastery.  Mainly because their oblates meet once every two weeks on Sundays.  If I were to attend their oblate meetings, this would mean missing Eucharist at my parish fairly frequently.  Additionally, it’s about a  30-minute drive roundtrip through city traffic.  I just don’ t think it’s going to work.  It’s not the frequency of the meetings as much as its the frequency coupled with the distance and the day of the week, which Beth and I are trying to make more sabbatical and less one-more-day-of-the-week-when-we-run-around-like-crazy-people.

So I’ve contacted the good women of this monastery.  They’re modern, active Benedictines (as opposed to the more traditional, “primitive,” and contemplative Benedictines of the Monastery of the Holy Cross), so it might be a good fit; there lives are closer to my life than the lives of the Holy Cross monks are.  Plus, being around nuns again might be good for me.  Other than the odd nun at my high school and college (there really weren’t many; I knew maybe two or three at each), I haven’t known many nuns since grammar school.  They were these and then after a big hubub they were replaced by these.

6 Responses to “Toward Oblation”


  1. Do you know my friend Derek, over at haligweorc? He’s a high-church, benedictine Episcopalian PhD candidate (who was, incidentally, raised in the Lutheran church) with a passion for things liturgical. I thought you might enjoy him . . .


  2. You know, I’ve just recently starting lurking around his page. I like what I see. I should add him to my blogroll.

  3. Antony Says:

    Well, well, well,
    An interesting blog you have here. I just found you and I see you have me linked in your sidebar. Thank you, I’m flattered. I was also glad to read of your connection to Holy Cross. I’ve followed Prior Peter’s blog for some time, and I hope to visit that monastery one of these days. Blessings on your oblate journey. I guess if you’ve been reading my blog, you know that I am an oblate of Saint John’s Abbey.

    I’ll be back, Jorge. 🙂
    Peace


  4. Welcome, Antony. I’ve enjoyed your ‘blog for a little while now. I hope you keep reading.

  5. Tripp Says:

    Jorge, sorry to derail the topic, but I tagged you. Be warned. Saints abound.

    And I think that your oblation makes tons of sense. Some day I may find myself playing in similar waters. But we’ll see.

    Baptist monastics. What next?

  6. Scott Says:

    I’m an oblate of Saint Meinrad Archabbey in southern Indiana and haven’t attended an oblate meeting yet. Just private silent retreats. There’s lots of support by mail and an online forum, though. Lots of ways to be an oblate or associate. I’m going to help start a local Saint Meinrad oblate chapter once there are enough local oblates.

    http://www.saintmeinrad.edu/monastery_oblates.aspx

Leave a Reply

