Chrysostom’s Universalism

26 April 2007

Getting back on the ‘bloggier, more theological tack this ‘blog has been on has been easier than expected.

Yesterday I came across this post at This is Life!. Readers may remember that last fall this ‘blog was frequently concerned with universalism and the possibility that all might be saved.

Since then, particularly because of reading von Balthasar at the behest of Fr. Stephanos, I have taken the position that we can not with any certainty say if all people will be saved nor if anyone in particular is saved nor if hell is empty or filling up. I hope that all are saved. I believe it is within God’s power and the realm of possibility, especially since we do not know what happens after death.

Powered by ScribeFire.

4 Responses to “Chrysostom’s Universalism”


  1. Some possibilities using “sola Scriptura”

    Luke 23:39-43
    One of the criminals who were hanged railed at him, saying, “Are you not the Christ? Save yourself and us!”
    But the other rebuked him, saying, “Do you not fear God, since you are under the same sentence of condemnation?
    And we indeed justly; for we are receiving the due reward of our deeds; but this man has done nothing wrong.”
    And he said, “Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.”
    And he said to him, “Truly, I say to you, today you will be with me in Paradise.”

    So there’s a criminal with Jesus in Paradise.

    Then, Jesus also speaks of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob as proof of the resurrection, for the One who calls himself their God (though they were long dead when he said it) is “the God of the Living” and not of the dead.”
    Mark 12:18-27; Matt 22:23-34; Luke 20:27-40

    Moses and Elijah who appear in the Transfiguration of Jesus
    Matthew 17:1-6, Mark 9:1-8, Luke 9:28-36.


  2. Sounds good to me, Jorge, except:

    if anyone in particular is saved

    That’s what canonising saints is about.


  3. Fr. Stephanos and Fogey,

    My reading has swung me so far the other way, I’m practically an Augustinian infernalist!

    Kidding aside, yes, of course you’re both right. From both Scripture and tradition we know at least several hundred (or thousand?) people are in heaven.

    And yet, I’ve become so cautious talking about it that I’m afraid of saying so!

    I blame you Fr. Stephanos.


  4. Oh, no! I’m going to hell

Leave a Reply

