Kurt Vonnegut (1922-2007)

12 April 2007

He’s in heaven now.  I say this because I loved him.

Human beings will be happier – not when they cure cancer or get to Mars or eliminate racial prejudice or flush Lake Erie but when they find ways to inhabit primitive communities again. That’s my utopia.

*    *    *    *    *

I want to stand as close to the edge as I can without going over. Out on the edge you see all the kinds of things you can’t see from the center.

 *    *    *    *    *

Laughter and tears are both responses to frustration and exhaustion. I myself prefer to laugh, since there is less cleaning up to do afterward. 

*    *    *    *    *

People don’t come to church for preachments, of course, but to daydream about God. 

*    *    *    *    *

Still and all, why bother? Here’s my answer. Many people need desperately to receive this message: I feel and think much as you do, care about many of the things you care about, although most people do not care about them. You are not alone. 

*    *    *    *    *

We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful what we pretend to be. 

*    *    *    *    * 

I tell you, we are here on Earth to fart around, and don’t let anybody tell you different. 

2 Responses to “Kurt Vonnegut (1922-2007)”

  1. Tripp Says:

    I must confess that I have never read anything of his.


  2. Your sins are forgiven; go forth an sin no more. Go out and read Slaughterhouse-Five.

Leave a Reply

