Dorothee Soelle

13 March 2007

When I was speaking to the rector of my new church, she suggested that I might try reading Dorothee Soelle, a German theologian of the latter-half of the 20th Century.

I picked up a selection of her work last Friday, and it is amazing.  I’ll probably do a Book Review Wednesday on it soon.

What struck me is that in all my discussions and readings online and in person, no one has yet mentioned her.  Granted, she is definitively extra-ecclesial, a kind of theologian-outside-the-church in the mold of Kierkegaard, but I am surprised that there is so little discussion of her ideas.  I don’t agree with her 100%, but her witness is powerful.

Leave a Reply

