Lent, Lectio Divina, and non-Blogging

14 February 2007

I feel very non-bloggy these days.  I’ve shoveled a lot in the last few days, three or four times since Monday, and I’m a little behind in my class prep.

And yet, Lent is just around the corner.  It’s creeping up on me!

I have a few disciplines that I do every year: abstaining from meat from Ash Wednesday until Easter, fasting on Wednesday and Friday, and praying with my old Breviary.

I would also like to take something on, something new specifically for this Lent.  I think I’m going to try to practice lectio divina.  Lectio is an aspect of monastic spirituality that I don’t quite understand, probably because I’ve never done it.  Prior Peter is writing about it these days, and OSB.org has some information.

I’ll probably have to go out and shovel and salt a little more this morning.

Stay warm and dry!

3 Responses to “Lent, Lectio Divina, and non-Blogging”

  1. Tripp Says:

    Hey…nice post. Lectio is a good thing. I called the abbey today for a Reconciler retreat. We’ll see what happens. Interested in attending? You would be more than welcome.

  2. Scott Says:

    Good to hear about your lectio plan, Jorge. I’m going to be teaching our five-week adult-ed Lenten series this year at Ascension, Chicago, on St Benedict’s Tools for Lent and Beyond, and lectio divina will get a session of its own–and, I hope, a piece of each remaining session. Not that I’m an expert: I’ve read more books on lectio than anyone I know but haven’t gotten into gear about doing it. The few times I’ve done it have been wonderful. One of the reasons I volunteered to lead this series is to teach myself these tools. We’ll also cover the Daily Office, the traditional Benedictine values, and whatever else there’s time for.

    Which old Breviary do you use in Lent?

    Scott, who never met a breviary he didn’t feel the need to get a copy of


  3. Tripp,

    Depending on the dates, I may be able to go. I’m definitely interested.

    Scott,

    My old breviary is a 1964 English Roman Breviary from Benzinger Brothers. They run between $100 and $300 depending on their condition; I got mine from my school’s library. Since I was faculty and nobody else ever asks for it, I get to keep it as long as I want! I dread the day when someone requests it; hopefully they’ll be satisfied with the dozen or so Latin Breviaries.

    Good luck with the class,

Leave a Reply

