Mac Repair Advice

12 February 2007

My laptop’s harddrive went caput, so I bought a new hard drive.

Now I have to install it.  Anybody got a lead on a Chicago-area Mac repair place?

The laptop is my family’s link to the internet; due to our work, especially Beth’s work, we can’t really go without the internet for much longer than a day.

As I started to try to install the hard drive myself, I broke two of my keys (F2 and F11), so I’m a little gunshy about doing it myself, although if anyone can guide me through it, I’d be happy to do so.

3 Responses to “Mac Repair Advice”

  1. Isabella Says:

    The downtown Apple store may be your best bet. If my experience is an gage, the larger stores like Circuit city, best buy, etc., the repair and floor help don’t know jack about mac, and have NEVER, not even once, had the part needed. They always refer me to the online store or the local (hour drive) Apple store. By the 4th or 5th time I needed some help (in almost 10 yrs of macs, not bad record), in the long run, it has been more efficient and not any more expensive to go right to the Apple store/geek bar.

  2. Jason Says:

    I agree with Isabella. The lines can be bad at the Mac store, but their people really do a good job. Check online about setting up an appointment. They have a weird and not entirely convenient policy about how that works.

  3. Tripp Says:

    There is also a Mac Store at Old Orchard Mall up near me…and thus closer to where you work.

Leave a Reply

