What to Buy, What to Buy?

30 November 2006

Sometime in the next little bit, I’m going to go down to my favorite bookstore and spend my honorarium from the Palabra Pura/Guild Complex Reading.

Mind you, it’s not a huge honorarium, but I’ll probably be able to buy 3 or 4 books with it.

I’ve resolved that I’m going to spend it mostly on poetry, but I want to buy one religious title with it, as the Seminary Co-Op has not only the finest poetry selection in town, but also the finest theology selection.

So that’s the question: what should I buy? I have a one-theology-book limit. To give you a sense of my current religious/theology library:

  • Ethics and The Cost of Discipleship (Bonhoeffer)
  • The Anglican Vision (Griffiths)
  • Models of the Church (Dulles)
  • Holy Things (Lathrop)
  • Selected works of John Calvin.
  • The Icon: Window on the Kingdom (Quenot)
  • Fifteen Sermons Delivered at the University of Oxford (Newman)
  • A smattering of religious philosophy (i.e. Kierkegaard, Unamuno, Rosezweig, Levinas, etc.)

So what should I get next? Von Balthasar’s book on Hell recommended by Fr. Stephanos? I’ve been coveting in the Institutes and Conferences of Cassian for some time; should I go monastic get one of those? Should I get another Lathrop (Holy People? Holy Places?)? Should I stay on the iconographic tack and pick up Ouspensky or something like it? I enjoyed my Orthdox Church reading earlier this fall; more Kallistos Ware? Something more classically Anglican/Episcopalian, since it seems that’s where I’m going?

I encourage you to perhaps nudge non-readers of this ‘blog who might have an opinion on the matter to check in. Thanks.

4 Responses to “What to Buy, What to Buy?”

  1. David Says:

    Lathrop is always a good choice, but you seem to have some of his work. why not go in a direction you haven’t gone? You say you enjoyed Orthodox reading…might I suggest G.K Chesterton’s “Orthodoxy”. That’s a good read.


  2. Thanks, David! I’ll put that on the things to look for.

  3. Tripp Says:

    I am a fan of VonBalthazar.

  4. Chris Says:

    I just finished reading Merton’s Seven Storey Mountain and found it to be an excellent read.

Leave a Reply

