Eucharistic Frustration

22 November 2006

My friend Chris and I have been talking about Eucharistic frustration, the inability to make it to a celebration of the Eucharist.

For a variety of reasons, I’ve had trouble getting to Eucharist with regularity.  This is unfortunate, as I really love the opprtunity to take Communion.   Chris has had the same problem: various things have kept his Sundays rather full, and he has had a hard time getting to church.

I’ve never heard of this term before, but I think it’s a real phenomenon among people who have cultivated a love for the Eucharist.  Eucharistic frustration can be hard.

It makes me wonder, though, is Eucharistic frustration a good thing?  I appreciate the Eucharist more when it’s unavailable.  It also makes me wonder if withholding oneself from the Eucharist can be a good thing, too; initially I would question the value of withholding oneself from the means of grace, but can it be done for a good reason?  By good reason, I mean a reason other than being unprepared to receive Communion?

One Response to “Eucharistic Frustration”

  1. Chris Says:

    If anything, being unable to receive the Eucharist for the past three weeks has really made me reflect on my past and on the ten years or so that I didn’t step foot in a Church except for weddings and funerals and then when I did I refused to do even basic things like say the Nicene Creed because I was so smug in my self-reliance. Perhaps this frustration is a sort of penance, a sort of “See what you missed? Now don’t do it again.”

Leave a Reply

