National Clandestine Service Radio Ads

3 November 2006

I was driving to work on Wednesday, when I heard an ad for the National Clandestine Service of the Central Intelligence Agency on ESPN (1000 AM; WMVP).

I thought at first it was a joke, and then I heard it again at noon when I was driving between campuses.

What does it say about the state of our intelligence agencies that they are soliciting applications on sports talk radio stations?  I can see the call now . . .

<CIA voicemail greeting, followed by beep>”Yeah, my name is Bob from Bridgeport: longtime listener, first-time caller, Sox fan from birt’.  I heard yer ads for secret agents and I t’ought to mysehf, ‘Bob, you can go undercover . . . .'”

Leave a Reply

