On the Feast of Saint Matthew, Apostle and Evangelist

21 September 2006

amatej.jpgI have not given much thought to Saint Matthew, Apostle and Evangelist, for a long time. His Gospel yes, but the person no.

I remember the first Bible I ever got, which is still around, in a closet in my parents’ house. It’s a thick, large-print tome I received on the occasion of my first Communion. I remember thinking, then or perhaps sometime later, that Matthew was my favorite Gospel. In college, I admired Mark for his bare bones and seemingly incomplete account of Jesus’ life. Later, I preferred John for his “high Christology,” philosophical tendencies, and allegedly quasi-Gnostic leanings. At some point in the middle there, I know I thought of myself as a “Luke man,” based on some lector’s manual’s appraisal that “nobody tells a story like Luke.”

If you asked me yesterday to name my favorite Gospel, I probably would’ve said that I didn’t have one, but if pressed I might have said Matthew, if only because Matthew has the Sermon on the Mount, an indispensible bit of Scripture.

I’ve thought a lot about the Gospel of Matthew, but not much about Matthew the Evangelist. Seeing as this blog’s first post was made on the Feast of Saint Matthew, Apostle and Evangelist, I hereby name this blog “The Wingèd Man” and declare Matthew its patron.

That’s it for now.

powered by performancing firefox

One Response to “On the Feast of Saint Matthew, Apostle and Evangelist”

  1. Elizabeth Wetmore Says:

    So what is known about Matthew, the person?

Leave a Reply

